Skip to main content

Carl Mitchell Award for Community Engagement


About the Award

With the Carl Mitchell Award for Community Engagement, the University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) is pleased to recognize a U of T alum who has made outstanding contributions to their community, and in doing so, has enriched the lives of others. Each winner has set a high standard for community service, making a significant contribution of time and talent as a volunteer to civic and charitable causes.

Each year’s award recipient is honoured, at the UTAA’s Annual Celebration during our reunion weekend each spring, with a video showcasing the recipient’s work in the community. In addition, a contribution of $1,000 is made in the recipient’s honour to their charity of choice.

About Carl Mitchell

The Carl Mitchell Award for Community Engagement is named in honour of UTAA Past-President Carl Mitchell, who passed away in 2016. Carl began the UTAA’s Community Engagement initiative in 2011 during his UTAA presidency.  It was very important to Carl that the UTAA took the time to recognize and celebrate the alumni who are engaged in grassroots volunteer activities and make a real difference in their communities.  He referred to these alumni as our “everyday heroes” and wanted to make sure the invaluable contributions of U of T alumni volunteers in their communities were held up as examples of how U of T alumni can make a difference through volunteering.

The former UTAA Alumni Award for Community Engagement was renamed the Carl Mitchell Award for Community Engagement in 2017 as a tribute to Carl’s profound commitment to this UTAA initiative, one that would not have existed without his vision and advocacy.

Read U of T Magazine's article on Carl

Photo of Carl Mitchell

Nominate an outstanding community volunteer

The UTAA annually recognizes one individual who has done exceptional work in the community – be it at a local, national or global level. In making its decision, the Selection Committee will take into account the nominee’s volunteer contributions to civic and charitable causes. As the Committee looks for extraordinary achievement, the nature, breadth and degree of impact of the nominee’s contribution will also be assessed.

  • Alum of the University of Toronto
  • Graduates of diploma and certificate programs are eligible
  • Sitting politicians, elected or appointment municipal/provincial/federal officials, members of U of T Governing Council and current UTAA Board members are not eligible
  • Posthumous nominations cannot be accepted
  • Must be available for the filming of a short video documentary about their work, to be shown at the UTAA Annual General Meeting and featured on the UTAA website. The video may also be used for other promotional purposes as determined by U of T or the UTAA
  1. Complete the nomination form
  2. Complete a covering letter from the nominator addressing the nominee's contributions and impact
  3. Obtain a curriculum vitae or résumé from the candidate (Optional)
  4. Obtain one (1) letter of support
  5. Submit completed nomination packages to the UTAA at

The annual deadline for award submissions is March 13th for the award to be presented in the spring of the same year. The nomination period opens every fall and the winner is announced in May of the following year.


In their covering letter, nominators must address in what way the nominee’s achievements are extraordinary, as they pertain to the award. The letter should also detail how the individual has contributed in an outstanding and meaningful way to their community. It is suggested that covering letters come from individuals who have either benefitted from or who have first-hand knowledge of the nominee’s community activities.

It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that nomination packages are complete. The selection committee will not consider incomplete nomination packages. Please do not submit more than the required number of documents/letters, as outlined above. Supplementary documents will not be considered. It is the responsibility of the nominator to retain copies of the complete package for future reference or resubmission.

Nomination materials must be submitted electronically and as one complete PDF package. Hard copies will not be accepted.

All letters of support are confidential and will be viewed only by members of the selection committee and the UTAA Board. Nominees who wish to view the letters for publicity or information purposes must first obtain permission from the individual who wrote the letter.

Nominations may be resubmitted for up to two (2) consecutive years. Each resubmission must be accompanied by a new nomination form and a new nomination letter. It is the nominator‘s responsibility to contact the previous supporter for permission to carry forward the letter of support.


Past Recipients

2019 Recipient Dr. Glen Sharpe, with UTAA President R. Scott MacKendrick and family of the late Carl Mitchell

2019 Recipient: Glen Sharpe

A Mohawk of the Bay of Quinte, Dr. Sharpe (Ed.D. 2011 OISE) is actively involved in a number of Indigenous organizations including Indspire where he serves as a mentor to teachers. 

Read the story

2018 Recipient: Peter Rekai

2018 Recipient: Peter Rekai

As the Chair of the Board of Directors for the Rekai Centres, Peter Rekai (BA 1976 Trinity) advocates for innovative long-term care that focuses on the unique multicultural needs of some of Toronto’s most vulnerable residents.

Read the story

 Carl Mitchell Award for Community Engagement - 2017 recipient Kimberley Tull

2017 recipient: Kimberley Tull

Kimberley Tull (BA 2000 UTSC, MEd 2013), a community engagement manager at U of T Scarborough, has created numerous successful community programs at U of T to strengthen individuals and break down systemic barriers to inclusion and equity.

Elisabeth McGregor

2016 recipient: Elisabeth McGregor

Elisabeth McGregor (BA 1978 UTSC, MSW 1984), a social worker in Mississauga, has made a lasting impact on her home town by founding community outreach centre The Compass.

2015 recipient: Rosemary Moodie

2015 recipient: Rosemary Moodie

Dr. Rosemary G. Moodie (MBA 2001), a paediatrician and a professor in U of T’s department of paediatrics, is making strenuous efforts to overcome the barriers of poverty and make it easier for women and children to access quality health care.