Skip to main content

Arbor Awards Nominations

TELL US ABOUT AN OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER

We love to hear about the outstanding U of T volunteers who, through their tremendous generosity, make an outstanding contribution to the experience of U of T students, faculty, staff and alumni. Please contact the appropriate alumni division below if you wish to suggest someone for an Arbor Award.

Note that nominations must come from a divisional alumni office and cannot be submitted directly by alumni or friends of the University.

Nominations are now open and must be submitted no later than Friday, April 13, 2018.

Eligibility for Arbor Awards

To be eligible to win an Arbor Award, a recipient must:

  • Have provided (or be currently providing) outstanding volunteer service to either a) one Division in order to be eligible in the Divisional Category, or b) across the University more broadly  focused on more than one faculty/college/department) in order to be eligible in the Central Category.
  • Have served U of T as a volunteer for a minimum of 3-5 years, with at least 3 years of continuous service as of the date of nomination.
  • Nominees who do not meet the minimum years of service may be submitted for consideration based on clearly demonstrated breadth and impact of service. The onus is on Nominator to ensure these qualities are explicitly outlined and demonstrated in the nomination form. These nominations are subject to review by the selection committee.
  • Have not previously have received an Arbor Award.
  • Not be a sitting politician, elected or appointed official or currently serving in a governance capacity at U of T.
  • Be a living alumnus/a or friend of the University of Toronto (Posthumous awards will be considered only in exceptional circumstances and if the nominee has passed away within one year of the upcoming ceremony).

Faculty and staff nominations

The Arbor Awards serve as recognition for the University’s outstanding volunteers from the alumni and friends community. Only in exceptional circumstances will current or previous employees of the University of Toronto be considered.  These faculty or staff nominations are not automatically accepted, but must pass an additional threshold of expectations and consideration by DUA in order to ensure their appropriateness and eligibility. Faculty and staff eligibility is as follows:

  • Their volunteer contributions must be clearly demonstrated as being outside the parameters and expectations of their daily job and in no way related to the scope of their job function at the University.

 

Types of Arbor Award Nominations

Arbor Award nominations may be submitted in Divisional and/or Central Categories. 

Divisional and Central Arbor Award quotas are listed below for your reference.  Please ensure you do not submit more nominations than your allowable limit.

There are no exceptions to these quotas and any additional nominations submitted will not be considered.

DIVISIONAL NOMINATIONS

  • Each division in the Faculty or College category may nominate up to five* alumni and/or friends of the university for an Arbor Award.
  • Each division in the Schools, Institutes, Centres and Programs category may nominate up to three* alumni and/or friends of the university for an Arbor Award.
  • Multi-departmental divisions are invited to nominate up to five additional alumni and/or friends of the university for an Arbor Award, up to a maximum total of ten* nominations.

*It is not necessary to nominate the maximum number allotted

CENTRAL NOMINATIONS

  • In addition to Divisional nominations, each Division may also nominate individuals in the Central Category for consideration by the Division of University Advancement.
  • Each Division may nominate up to two* individuals in the Central Category for consideration.
  • Each Affiliate may nominate up to three* alumni and/or friends of the university for consideration. Affiliates are non-academic units whose volunteers serve the broader University community. Examples of this include but are not limited to Regional Groups, Senior Alumni Association, UTAA and Student Life.

*It is not necessary to nominate the maximum number allotted

Faculties

Applied Science and Engineering, Faculty of
Sonia De Buglio
T: 416-946-8143
E: sonia@ecf.utoronto.ca

Architecture, Landscape, and Design, John H. Daniels Faculty of
John Cowling
T: 416-978-4340
E: john.cowling@daniels.utoronto.ca

Arts and Science, Faculty of
Ramine Haider
T: 416-946-8702
E: alumni@artsci.utoronto.ca

Commerce, Rotman
Bonnie Merchan-Douglas
T: 416-946-7168
E: b.douglas@utoronto.ca

Dentistry, Faculty of
Miriam Stephan
T: 416-979-4940
E: miriam.stephan@dentistry.utoronto.ca

Education, Ontario Institute for Studies in
Sim Kapoor
T: 416-978-5047
E: sim.kapoor@utoronto.ca

Forestry, Faculty of
Laura Lapchinski
T: 416-978-5480 
E: laura.lapchinski@utoronto.ca

Information, Faculty of
Lisa Habib
T: 416-978-4985
E: lisa.habib@utoronto.ca

Kinesiology and Physical Education, Faculty of
Samantha Barr
T: 416-946-5126
E: samantha.barr@utoronto.ca

Law, Faculty of
Wasila Baset
T: 416-946-8227
E: wasila.baset@utoronto.ca

Management, Rotman School of
Jennifer Hildebrandt
T: 416-946-7691
E: jhildebrandt@rotman.utoronto.ca

Medicine, Faculty of
Karen Lee
T: 416-978-3588
E: kare.lee@utoronto.ca

Music, Faculty of
Tyler Greenleaf
T: 416-946-3580
E: tyler.greenleaf@utoronto.ca

Nursing, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of
Rosemary Quinlan
T: 416-946-7097
E: rosemary.quinlan@utoronto.ca

Pharmacy, Leslie Dan Faculty of
Nadia Gibbons
T: 416-946-5554
E: nadia.gibbons@utoronto.ca

Public Health, Dalla Lana School of
Annette Paul
T: 416-978-8498
E: anette.paul@utoronto.ca

Social Work, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of
Judith Scheininger
T: 416-978-5042
E: judy.scheininger@utoronto.ca

Colleges

Innis College
Ennis Blentic
T: 416-978-3424
E: ennis.blentic@utoronto.ca

New College
Brenda Registe
T: 416-978-8273
E: brenda.registe@utoronto.ca

University College
Mike Henry
T: 416-978-2968
E: mike.henry@utoronto.ca

Woodsworth College
Stephanie Woodside
T: 416-978-5301
E: stephanie.woodside@utoronto.ca

Federated Universities

St. Michael’s College, The University of
Melanie Waring-Chapman
T: 416-926-7260
E: melanie.waring.chapman@utoronto.ca

Trinity College, The University of
Julia Paris
T: 416-978-2707
E: julia.paris@utoronto.ca

Victoria University
Jennifer Wells
T: 416-585-4503
E: jennifer.wells@utoronto.ca

Campuses

University of Toronto Mississauga
Sue Prior
T: 905-828-5454
E: sue.prior@utoronto.ca

University of Toronto Scarborough
Regan Tigno
T: 416-287-5631
E: regan.tigno@utoronto.ca

Schools, Institutes, Centres and Programmes

Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study
Sim Kapoor
T: 416-978-5047
E: sim.kapoor@utoronto.ca

Continuing Studies, School of
Benjamin Wood
T: 416-946-5300
E: benjamin.wood@utoronto.ca

Central University

Central Libraries
Jimmy Vuong
T: 416-978-7654 
E: jimmy.vuong@utoronto.ca

Hart House
Peter Wambera
T: 416-946-3993
E: peter.wambera@utoronto.ca

Nomination form for alumni offices

Several fields in the nomination form are mandatory; please ensure you have all the required information or you will be unable to submit your form.

Each nomination must be submitted separately. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Questions? Email us at arbor.awards@utoronto.ca

Complete the nomination form

Close