Skip to main content

Arbor Awards Nominations

TELL US ABOUT AN OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER

We love to hear about the outstanding U of T volunteers who, through their tremendous generosity, make an outstanding contribution to the experience of U of T students, faculty, staff and alumni.

The Arbor Award is the highest honour given to U of T volunteers; therefore, the expectation is that the nominating division has honoured their nominee appropriately at the divisional level before submitting them for an Arbor Award. 

Note that nominations must come from a divisional alumni office and cannot be submitted directly by alumni or friends of the University. Please contact the appropriate division below if you wish to suggest someone for an Arbor Award.

eligibility

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees must have provided (or currently be providing) oustanding volunteer service to either:

       1) one Division in order to be eligible in the Divisional Category

               OR

       2) more broadly across the University, focused on more than one faculty/college/department in order to be eligible in the Central Category

  • Nominees must be alumni or friends of the University with a minimum of 3 years of continuous service as a U of T volunteer as of the date of the nomination. This service must be within one year immediately leading up to the nomination deadline.
  • Volunteer service as a student is ineligible; eligibility commences once the student has graduated and become an alumnus/a of the University.
  • Nominees cannot have previously received an Arbor Award
  • Nominees cannot be sitting politicians, elected or appointed officials or currently serving on Governing Council.
  • Nominees must be living alumnus/a or friend of the University of Toronto. 
    • Posthumous awards will be considered only if the nominee has passed away within one year of the current year’s nomination deadline. 
    • Posthumous nominees must be submitted for individual volunteer contributions only; they cannot be submitted for posthumous addition to a past group Arbor Award.

Faculty and Staff Nominations

types

Types of Arbor Award Nominations

Divisional and Central Arbor Award quotas are listed below for your reference.  Please ensure you do not submit more nominations than your allowable limit. There are no exceptions to these limits and any additional nominations submitted will not be considered.

DIVISIONAL NOMINATIONS

  • Each division in the Faculty or College category may nominate up to five* alumni and/or friends of the university for an Arbor Award.
  • Each division in the Schools, Institutes, Centres and Programs category may nominate up to three* alumni and/or friends of the university for an Arbor Award.
  • Multi-departmental divisions are invited to nominate up to five additional alumni and/or friends of the university for an Arbor Award, up to a maximum total of ten* nominations.

*It is not necessary to nominate the maximum number allotted

CENTRAL NOMINATIONS

  • In addition to Divisional nominations, each Division may also nominate individuals in the Central Category for consideration by the Division of University Advancement.
  • Each Division may nominate up to two* individuals in the Central Category for consideration.
  • Each Affiliate may nominate up to three* alumni and/or friends of the university for consideration. Affiliates are non-academic units whose volunteers serve the broader University community. Examples of this include but are not limited to Regional Groups, Senior Alumni Association, UTAA and Student Life.

*It is not necessary to nominate the maximum number allotted

nomination-deadline

Nomination Deadline

The nomination period is currently closed and will reopen in early 2020. 

divisional-contacts-faculties

Faculties

Applied Science and Engineering, Faculty of
Sonia De Buglio
T: 416-946-8143
E: sonia.debuglio@utoronto.ca

Architecture, Landscape, and Design, John H. Daniels Faculty of
John Cowling
T: 416-978-4340
E: john.cowling@daniels.utoronto.ca

Arts and Science, Faculty of
Ramine Haider
T: 416-946-8702
E: alumni@artsci.utoronto.ca

Commerce, Rotman
Bonnie Merchan-Douglas
T: 416-946-7168
E: b.douglas@utoronto.ca

Dentistry, Faculty of
Rachel Castellano
T: 416-864-8203
E: Rachel.Castellano@dentistry.utoronto.ca

Education, Ontario Institute for Studies in
Natalie Neumann Butler
T: 416-978-5047
E: natalie.neumannbutler@utoronto.ca

Forestry, Faculty of
Laura Lapchinski
T: 416-978-5480 
E: laura.lapchinski@utoronto.ca

Information, Faculty of
Lisa Habib
T: 416-978-4985
E: lisa.habib@utoronto.ca

Kinesiology and Physical Education, Faculty of
Samantha Barr
T: 416-946-5126
E: samantha.barr@utoronto.ca

Law, Faculty of
Wasila Baset
T: 416-946-8227
E: wasila.baset@utoronto.ca

Management, Rotman School of
Jennifer Hildebrandt
T: 416-946-7691
E: jhildebrandt@rotman.utoronto.ca

Medicine, Faculty of
Sara Franca
T: 647-998-5733
E: sara.franca@utoronto.ca

Music, Faculty of
Tyler Greenleaf
T: 416-946-3580
E: tyler.greenleaf@utoronto.ca

Nursing, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of
Shonna Spicer
T: 416-946-7097
E: shonna.spicer@utoronto.ca

Pharmacy, Leslie Dan Faculty of
Tara O'Leary
T: 416-946-3147
E: tara.oleary@utoronto.ca

Public Health, Dalla Lana School of
Annette Paul
T: 416-978-8498
E: annette.paul@utoronto.ca

Social Work, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of
Judith Scheininger
T: 416-978-5042
E: judy.scheininger@utoronto.ca

Colleges

Innis College
Ennis Blentic
T: 416-978-3424
E: ennis.blentic@utoronto.ca

New College
Brenda Registe
T: 416-978-8273
E: brenda.registe@utoronto.ca

University College
Lori MacIntyre
T: 416-978-3803
E: lori.macintyre@utoronto.ca 

Woodsworth College
Stephanie Woodside
T: 416-978-5301
E: stephanie.woodside@utoronto.ca

Federated Universities

St. Michael’s College, The University of
Kathryn Elton
T: 416-926-7261 ext. 67261
E: kathryn.elton@utoronto.ca

Trinity College, The University of
Julia Paris
T: 416-978-2707
E: julia.paris@utoronto.ca

Victoria University
Jennifer Wells
T: 416-585-4503
E: jennifer.wells@utoronto.ca

Campuses

University of Toronto Mississauga
Sue Prior
T: 905-828-5454
E: sue.prior@utoronto.ca

University of Toronto Scarborough
Regan Tigno
T: 416-287-5631
E: regan.tigno@utoronto.ca

Schools, Institutes, Centres and Programmes

Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study
Natalie Neumann Butler
T: 416-978-5047
E: natalie.neumannbutler@utoronto.ca

Continuing Studies, School of
Benjamin Wood
T: 416-946-5300
E: benjamin.wood@utoronto.ca

Central University

Central Libraries
Jimmy Vuong
T: 416-978-7654 
E: jimmy.vuong@utoronto.ca

Hart House
Peter Wambera
T: 416-946-3993
E: peter.wambera@utoronto.ca

Nomination form for alumni offices

Several fields in the nomination form are mandatory; please ensure you have all the required information or you will be unable to submit your form.

Each nomination must be submitted separately. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Questions? Email us at arbor.awards@utoronto.ca

Complete the nomination form

Close