Skip to main content

Arbor Awards

Status: The 2022 Arbor Awards are now closed.

about

RECOGNIZING EXCEPTIONAL VOLUNTEERS

Our volunteers personify the very best attributes of the University’s motto, Velut Arbor Aevo – “May it grow as a tree through the ages.” Their work represents both our roots and our branches, which have served to anchor our traditions and spread the mission of this University – to meet global challenges and prepare global citizens.

We are proud to honour and celebrate the contributions of the University's exceptional and longstanding volunteers with the prestigious Arbor Award.

This award is the highest honour granted by the University to volunteers, and is given for sustained contributions to specific academic units, such as faculties, colleges or institutes, or for broader contributions to the University at large.

Photo of Arbor Award Recipient
recipients
Arbor Award Pin on top of grass

2021 Arbor Awards Recipients

Congratulations to 2021 Arbor Award recipients! This is our highest honour for volunteers, recognizing extraordinary levels of commitment to the University of Toronto.

 See the 2021 Recipients

See Past Honourees

nominate

NOMINATE AN OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER

The Arbor Awards recognize U of T volunteers who, through their exemplary generosity, make sustained and valuable contributions to the experience of U of T students, faculty, staff and alumni.

This award is the highest honour given to U of T volunteers; therefore, the expectation is that the nominating division has honoured their nominee appropriately at the divisional level before submitting them for an Arbor Award. 

Note that nominations must come from a divisional alumni office and cannot be submitted directly by alumni or friends of the University. Please contact the appropriate nomination coordinator if you wish to suggest someone for an Arbor Award.

We recommend you do not inform alumni they are being nominated for an Arbor Award.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
  • Nominees must have provided (or currently be providing) outstanding volunteer service to either:

1) one Division in order to be eligible in the Divisional Category

or

2) more broadly across the University, focused on more than faculty/college/department in order to be eligible in the Central Category

  • Nominees must be alumni or friends of the University with a minimum of 3 years of continuous service as a U of T volunteer as of the date of the nomination. This service must be within one year immediately leading up to the nomination deadline.
  • Volunteer service as a student is ineligible; eligibility commences once the student has graduated and become an alumnus/a of the University.
  • Nominees cannot have previously received an Arbor Award.
  • Nominees cannot be sitting politicians, elected or appointed officials or currently serving on Governing Council.
  • Nominees must be living alumnus/a or friend of the University of Toronto.
  • Posthumous nominations are ineligible.
NOMINATION DEADLINE

The 2022 nomination period is now closed.

Nomination Form

The nomination form must be submitted by a division and cannot be submitted by alumni.

Several fields in the nomination form are mandatory; please ensure you have all the required information or you will be unable to submit your form.

Each nomination must be submitted separately. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Questions? Email us at arbor.awards@utoronto.ca

 

 

coordinators

 

Nomination Coordinators

To suggest someone for an Arbor Award, please contact the corresponding coordinator below.

FACULTIES

Applied Science and Engineering, Faculty of
Sonia De Buglio
T: 416-946-8143
E: sonia.debuglio@utoronto.ca

Architecture, Landscape, and Design, John H. Daniels Faculty of
Stacey Charles
E: stacey.charles@daniels.utoronto.ca

Arts and Science, Faculty of
Ramine Haider
T: 416-946-8702
E: alumni@artsci.utoronto.ca

Commerce, Rotman
Sarah Tron
E: sarah.tron@utoronto.ca

Dentistry, Faculty of
Roshaan Hajira
T: 416-864-8203
E: roshaan.hajira@dentistry.utoronto.ca

Education, Ontario Institute for Studies in
Natalie Neumann Butler
T: 416-978-5047
E: natalie.neumannbutler@utoronto.ca

Information, Faculty of
Claudia Hughes
E: claudia.hughes@utoronto.ca

Kinesiology and Physical Education, Faculty of
Tania Donald
E: tania.donald@utoronto.ca

Law, Faculty of
Wasila Baset
E: wasila.baset@utoronto.ca

Management, Rotman School of
Alexandra Brennan
E:a.brennan@rotman.utoronto.ca

Medicine, Temerty Faculty of
Katrina Heisz
E: katrina.heisz@utoronto.ca

Music, Faculty of
Tyler Greenleaf
T: 416-946-3580
E: tyler.greenleaf@utoronto.ca

Nursing, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of
Carolyn Peralta
T: 416-946-0382
E: carolyn.peralta@utoronto.ca

Pharmacy, Leslie Dan Faculty of
Claire Simpson
E: claire.simpson@utoronto.ca

Public Health, Dalla Lana School of
Lillian Onyido
T: 416-455-4402
E: lillian.onyido@utoronto.ca

Social Work, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of
Daniel Downey
T: 416-978-3258
E: daniel.downey@utoronto.ca

COLLEGES

Innis College
Ennis Blentic
T: 416-978-3424
E: ennis.blentic@utoronto.ca

New College
Brenda Registe
T: 416-978-8273
E: brenda.registe@utoronto.ca

University College
Naomi Handley
E: naomi.handley@utoronto.ca

Woodsworth College
Barbara Track
E: barbara.track@utoronto.ca

St. Michael’s College, The University of
Brittany Davila
T: 416-926-7260
E: brittany.davila@utoronto.ca

Trinity College, The University of
Kathy Prpic
T: 416-978-2707
E: kathy.prpic@utoronto.ca

Victoria University
Helena Herscovici
T: 416-585-4503
E: h.herscovici@utoronto.ca

CAMPUSES

University of Toronto Mississauga
Kristin Lovell
T: 905-569-5740
E: kristin.lovell@utoronto.ca

University of Toronto Scarborough
Corey Formica
E: corey.formica@utoronto.ca

Libraries, Continuing Studies & Hart House

Central Libraries
Michael Cassabon
T: 416-978-7644
E: michael.cassabon@utoronto.ca

Continuing Studies, School of
Benjamin Wood
T: 416-946-5300
E: benjamin.wood@utoronto.ca

Hart House
Peter Wambera
T: 416-946-3993
E: peter.wambera@utoronto.ca

 

Close