October 15, 2019 | Volunteer & Awards

U of T alumna Margaret Atwood shares Booker Prize for sequel to Handmaid’s Tale

Margaret Atwood

(photo by Michael Tran/FilmMagic via Getty Images)

Acclaimed author Margaret Atwood (BA 1961 VIC, Hon DLitt 1983, Hon DSacLitt 1987 VIC), a University of Toronto alumna, has won the 2019 Booker Prize for her dystopian thriller The Testaments, her follow-up to The Handmaid’s Tale.

Atwood, 79, shared the prize with British author Bernardine Evaristo, who was honoured for her book of Black women’s stories Girl, Woman, Other.

A graduate of Victoria College who has a long relationship with U of T, Atwood said she planned to donate her share of the prize money to a scholarship for Indigenous students in environmental studies, the CBC reported. She previously won the Booker in 2000 for The Blind Assasin. 

Founded in 1969, the Booker is awarded to English-language authors whose works are published in the United Kingdom. It has been split between two winners only twice before – most recently in 1992, when U of T alumnus Michael Ondaatje (BA 1965 UC) and Barry Unsworth shared the honour for The English Patient and Sacred Hunger respectively. 

Read more about Margaret Atwood’s win at CBC News



Don't miss out!

Update your contact information to be the first to know about exclusive offers. This makes it easy to tell us when your email has changed.

Update my information

Special discounts

Did you know that U of T alumni get deep discounts on attractions, sporting events, car rentals and more? Sign up today.

Sign up