Skip to main content
UTAA Members

Jemy Joseph


(HBSc 2008 UTSC, MSc 2012, PGMT 2017)
Emergency Medicine Physician, Scarborough Health Network

Jemy Joseph completed her undergraduate and graduate degrees at the University of Toronto, medical school at the University of Ottawa and a residency in family medicine at the University of Toronto. At University of Toronto, Jemy was been a tireless advocate and strived for change at many levels of university administration and student governance. She sat on over 20 University committees and held various executive roles in student governmental organizations.

Additionally, Jemy engaged her advocacy interests by working with provincial and national organizations such as the Ontario Medical Students Association (OMSA) and the Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS). In residency, Jemy served family medicine residents' through leadership roles at the College of Family Physicians of Canada (Section of Residents) and UofT's Department of Family Medicine (Family Medicine Residents' Association of Toronto). In 2013, Jemy completed an internship with the World Health Organization (WHO) headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. Joseph has been recipient of several accolades including the CFPC Medical Student Scholarship (2014), Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), New Pioneers Youth Awards (2011) and the John H. Moss Scholarship (2008).

Jemy started her career as a rural locum physician in Northwest Territories and Nunavut. At present, she works as an Emergency Room physician at the Scarborough Hospital while continuing to do rural locums intermittently At U of T she has volunteered with the Faculty of Medicine Alumni Award Selection Committee, the Joan Foley Award Selection Committee, and the Moss Scholarship Selection Committee. She is also a past member of the Governing Council Academic Appeals Committee, the Governing Council Committee for Honorary Degrees, the Governing Council Agenda Committee and the Governing Council Academic Board and is a recipient of the Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award.