University of Toronto word mark

Alumni: Giving U of T more reasons to be proud


The student experience at the University of Toronto is more than classes and books. It is life on campus, in the community and in the world at large. The Cressy Awards recognize graduating students for outstanding contributions to improving the world around them and inspiring others to do the same.

Celebrating Twenty Years of Student Leadership

About the Award

The Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Awards were established in 1994 by the University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) and the Division of University Advancement in order to recognize students who have made outstanding extra-curricular contributions to their college, faculty or school, or to the university as a whole.

In naming the awards after Gordon Cressy,the former vice-president of development and university relations, the UTAA recognized his commitment to higher education and his leadership in fundraising and community service. The qualities of leadership and dedication demonstrated by Mr. Cressy during his six years with the university are also embodied in the efforts of students chosen to receive this award.


Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015 Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Awards.

Please consult the Eligibility Criteria  for the award before submitting a nomination . For information on where to submit a nomination, refer to the List of  2015 Nomination Coordinators . Nominations may be made to whichever Coordinator the Nominator feels is most appropriate; however, only one nomination is allowed per candidate. Copies submitted to additional Nomination Coordinators will not be considered.

Nomination packages must be approved by the candidate and submitted to the appropriate Nomination Coordinator no later than January 23rd, 2015 unless otherwise stated for a particular faculty or college on the List of Nomination Coordinators and Submission Instructions.

Award Recipients will be recognized at presentation ceremony in Convocation Hall on April 16, 2015 from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m.  Details and RSVP instructions will be posted here as soon as they are available.

2015 Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award Recipients

Please click here to view the 2015 Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award Recipients

View past recipients

Please note: If you are being nominated for a Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award, and you do not meet the GPA requirement (2.7), it is recommended that you consult your nomination coordinator prior to requesting a letter of exemption from your registrar. Exemption requests will only be considered under extraordinary circumstances (ie. medical or family emergency that has caused undue stress, therefore impacting your academic performance).

Related Links