Skip to main content

Arbor Awards Nominations

NOMINATE AN OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER

The Arbor Awards recognize U of T volunteers who, through their exemplary generosity, make sustained and valuable contributions to the experience of U of T students, faculty, staff and alumni.

This award is the highest honour given to U of T volunteers; therefore, the expectation is that the nominating division has honoured their nominee appropriately at the divisional level before submitting them for an Arbor Award. 

Note that nominations must come from a divisional alumni office and cannot be submitted directly by alumni or friends of the University. Please contact the appropriate division below if you wish to suggest someone for an Arbor Award.

eligibility

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees must have provided (or currently be providing) oustanding volunteer service to either:

       1) one Division in order to be eligible in the Divisional Category

               OR

       2) more broadly across the University, focused on more than one faculty/college/department in order to be eligible in the Central Category

  • Nominees must be alumni or friends of the University with a minimum of 3 years of continuous service as a U of T volunteer as of the date of the nomination. This service must be within one year immediately leading up to the nomination deadline.
  • Volunteer service as a student is ineligible; eligibility commences once the student has graduated and become an alumnus/a of the University.
  • Nominees cannot have previously received an Arbor Award.
  • Nominees cannot be sitting politicians, elected or appointed officials or currently serving on Governing Council.
  • Nominees must be living alumnus/a or friend of the University of Toronto.
  • Posthumous awards will be considered only if the nominee has passed away within one year of the current year’s nomination deadline.
  • Volunteers who are currently faculty or staff must pass an additional threshold of expectations in order to be considered for an Arbor Award, which is intended primarily for alumni and friends. Additional criteria for faculty and staff nominations may be viewed here
types

DIVISIONAL AND CENTRAL ARBOR AWARD QUOTAS

Divisional and Central Arbor Award quotas are listed below. 

Kindly do not submit more nominations than your allowable limit. There are no exceptions to these limits and any additional nominations submitted will not be considered.

DIVISIONAL NOMINATIONS

  • Each Division in the Faculty or College category may submit up to five* nominees.
  • Multi-departmental Divisions are invited to submit up to ten* nominees.

*It is not necessary to nominate the maximum number allotted

CENTRAL NOMINATIONS

In addition to Divisional nominations, each Division may also nominate individuals in the Central Category for consideration for review and assessment by the selection committee.

  • Each Division may submit up to two* nominations for consideration.
  • Each Affiliate may submit up to three* nominations for consideration. Affiliates are non-academic units whose volunteers serve the broader University community. Examples of this include but are not limited to Regional Groups, Senior Alumni Association, UTAA and Student Life.

*It is not necessary to nominate the maximum number allotted

nomination-deadline

Nomination Deadline

The 2020 nomination period is currently closed.

divisional-contacts-faculties

Faculties

Applied Science and Engineering, Faculty of
Sonia De Buglio
T: 416-946-8143
E: sonia.debuglio@utoronto.ca

Architecture, Landscape, and Design, John H. Daniels Faculty of
John Cowling
T: 416-978-4340
E: john.cowling@daniels.utoronto.ca

Arts and Science, Faculty of
Ramine Haider
T: 416-946-8702
E: alumni@artsci.utoronto.ca

Commerce, Rotman
Bonnie Merchan-Douglas
T: 416-946-7168
E: b.douglas@utoronto.ca

Dentistry, Faculty of
Rachel Castellano
T: 416-864-8203
E: Rachel.Castellano@dentistry.utoronto.ca

Education, Ontario Institute for Studies in
Natalie Neumann Butler
T: 416-978-5047
E: natalie.neumannbutler@utoronto.ca

Information, Faculty of
Chioma Ekpo
T:  416-978-3863
E: chioma.ekpo@utoronto.ca

Kinesiology and Physical Education, Faculty of
Samantha Barr
T: 416-946-5126
E: samantha.barr@utoronto.ca

Law, Faculty of
Raquel Preston
T: 416-946-0888
E: raquel.preston@utoronto.ca

Management, Rotman School of
Jennifer Hildebrandt
T: 416-946-7691
E: jhildebrandt@rotman.utoronto.ca

Medicine, Faculty of
Mila Thirasack
T: 416-978-3588
E: mila.thirasack@utoronto.ca

Music, Faculty of
Tyler Greenleaf
T: 416-946-3580
E: tyler.greenleaf@utoronto.ca

Nursing, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of
Shonna Spicer
T: 416-946-7097
E: shonna.spicer@utoronto.ca

Pharmacy, Leslie Dan Faculty of
Tara O'Leary
T: 416-946-3147
E: tara.oleary@utoronto.ca

Public Health, Dalla Lana School of
Annette Paul
T: 416-978-8498
E: annette.paul@utoronto.ca

Social Work, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of
Judith Scheininger
T: 416-978-5042
E: judy.scheininger@utoronto.ca

Colleges

Innis College
Ennis Blentic
T: 416-978-3424
E: ennis.blentic@utoronto.ca

New College
Brenda Registe
T: 416-978-8273
E: brenda.registe@utoronto.ca

University College
Emily Kakouris
T: 416-978-2968
E: e.kakouris@utoronto.ca

Woodsworth College
Stephanie Woodside
T: 416-978-5301
E: stephanie.woodside@utoronto.ca

Federated Universities

St. Michael’s College, The University of
Kathryn Elton
T: 416-926-7261 ext. 67261
E: kathryn.elton@utoronto.ca

Trinity College, The University of
Jill Rooksby
T: 416-978-2651
E: Jill.rooksby@utoronto.ca

Victoria University
Helena Herscovici
T: 416-585-4503
E: h.herscovici@utoronto.ca

Campuses

University of Toronto Mississauga
Kristin Lovell
T: 905-569-5740
E: kristin.lovell@utoronto.ca

University of Toronto Scarborough
Regan Tigno
T: 416-287-5631
E: regan.tigno@utoronto.ca

central

Central University

Central Libraries
Michael Cassabon
T: 416-978-7644
E: michael.cassabon@utoronto.ca

Continuing Studies, School of
Benjamin Wood
T: 416-946-5300
E: benjamin.wood@utoronto.ca

Hart House
Peter Wambera
T: 416-946-3993
E: peter.wambera@utoronto.ca

Nomination form for alumni offices

Several fields in the nomination form are mandatory; please ensure you have all the required information or you will be unable to submit your form.

Each nomination must be submitted separately. Late submissions will not be accepted.

Questions? Email us at arbor.awards@utoronto.ca

Complete the nomination form
Close
COVID-19 Update:

For community safety, in-person events are currently postponed or cancelled. Explore virtual events and resources for alumni on the #StayHome hub. Are you a 2020 graduate? Start your lifelong access. Have questions? Contact us.

Close