University of Toronto word mark

Alumni: Giving U of T more reasons to be proud




The 2017 Awards of Excellence nomination and application process is now closed.
Check back soon to learn about this year’s recipients. Names and citations will be posted here shortly.

Learn more about the 2016 award recipients.

Awards of Excellence Ceremony | Past Recipients | FAQ | Overview of all Awards

About the Awards of Excellence

Throughout its rich history, the University of Toronto has striven to promote and recognize excellence among its community members. The University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) has played an integral role in furthering this mission through its longstanding support of distinguished awards programs that acknowledge outstanding faculty, staff, students, and alumni. The Awards of Excellence is one of the most prestigious award programs at the University; the first award in this program dates back to 1921 with the creation of the John H. Moss Scholarship, awarded to outstanding student leaders. In 1990 the Faculty Award and the Chancellor’s Award were added to the program. Though the criteria differed for each award, recipients all shared a commitment to enhancing the university experience of their peers and left a significant impact on the University through their efforts.



Since 1990, seven more distinct awards or scholarships recognizing exceptional students, faculty, and administrative staff members of the University have been added to the Awards of Excellence program, most recently, the Jill Matus Award for Excellence in Student Services. The Awards of Excellence celebrate members of the University of Toronto community who, through their individual efforts and accomplishments, have contributed to the University’s vision of becoming a leader among the world’s best public teaching and research universities. Those honoured through the program have stepped up to the challenge of making rich and meaningful contributions to the University, the community, and to the world.

The 2016 Awards of Excellence ceremony was held on Wednesday, May 4, 2016 in Desautels Hall.


Awards of Excellence - Moss Scholar

The Awards of Excellence Ceremony

The Awards of Excellence are bestowed in an annual ceremony every Spring recognizing recipients for their outstanding achievements. View photographs of the 2016 ceremony.

Photo Credit: Gustavo Toledo


Awards of Excellence Scholarship Recipients are the leaders of their classes. Academically, they take advantage of the quality and breadth of learning and research opportunities provided by the University. Through leadership in athletics, student government, clubs and student groups, they enhance the experiences of their peers by contributing to the development of diverse and strong student communities.

John H. Moss Scholarship

An up to $16,650 scholarship awarded to a graduating student with an undergraduate degree recognizing academic achievement and extra-curricular involvement.

Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Award

An up to $25,000 fellowship for doctoral candidates recognizing academic achievement, extra-curricular leadership, and involvement in the life of the University.


Those honoured through the Awards of Excellence reflect the University’s vision of becoming a leader among the world’s best public teaching and research universities in its discovery, preservation and sharing of knowledge through its teaching and research and its commitment to excellence and equity. Award recipients support this objective in a variety of ways-from providing students with academically challenging and exciting, well-taught programs, to ensuring that the University of Toronto community is sensitive to the diversity of its population, to sharing their discovery and knowledge through public stewardship. What unites Awards of Excellence recipients is their commitment and contribution to the advancement of the University’s vision, mission, values, and major goals.

Faculty Award

A $1,000 prize recognizing excellence in teaching, research, and professional endeavours.

Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award

A prize of up to $800 recognizing excellence in teaching, research, and the impact of scholarship on public policy.

Chancellor’s Award

Two $1,000 prizes for outstanding contributions by an administrative staff member.

Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award

A $1,000 award given to a student, alumnus/a, administrative staff or faculty member who has made significant contribution to improving the quality of academic or extra-curricular student life on campus.

Jill Matus Award for Excellence in Student Services

Up to two $1200 awards given to administrative staff members who demonstrate excellence in the area of student life and student services, and whose contributions specifically go beyond the parameters and duties of their daily jobs.

Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize

A prize of up to $1,500 prize recognizing positive and lasting contributions to education and action in the fight against discrimination. Faculty, staff, and students may be nominated for this award.

Northrop Frye Award

A $2,000 award given to a faculty member and a $6,000 award given to a Department or Division,recognizing distinguished achievements in linking teaching and research.

Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award

An award of up to $2,500 given to a faculty member who has served the university with distinction in multiple leadership capacities, including committees, governance bodies and external organizations complementary to the university’s academic mission.